"D-I-Y BRIDAL SHOWER" (Part II)

…and then there were the food and drinks…which were somewhat D-I-Y too, but by we cheated a little by having them done by a restaurant chef (my poor E.  He has no choice but to say yes).

I’m so sad we do not have any picture of the salad because it was divine.  I hate ordering salads and having to tell the server to hold this or put that on the side since I don’t always like everything in a salad.  There’s something about only getting the ingredients I love in my salad that made it so special for me.  But we were all enjoying it so much, none of us bothered to take the photos.  Oh well.  Boo.

We, however, did get great shots of the Tofu Summer Rolls and the sliders…

Â

Ooohh and I almost forgot about the cute flags for the sliders!  I also made those.  If you’ve seen my WEDDING INVITATIONS post, you may have seen the address labels.  I made those myself, and I added this cute heart graphic to the labels.  There were a lot of labels left over so instead of wasting perfectly good labels, I printed them with a bunch of these heart graphics I downloaded from weddingchicks.com and made them into flags using bamboo skewers.  I told you…I’m all about recycling.

And for the drinks…we don’t really have good (and pretty) photos, but they were splendid.  I HEART anything sparkling whether it be champagne, sparkling wine, or prosecco.  E created the Reverse Raspberry Bellini for me.  The bottom is the prosecco, and it has raspberry foam on top that E made himself using raspberry puree.  Raspberry is one of my favorite flavors, and red/pink happens to be our shower color scheme so it worked out so, so perfectly.  Oh how I love when everything just comes together so beautifully…

And for desserts…my lovely friend/pastry chef, Rachel made the cupcakes for me.  It’s my favorite recipe that was inspired by one of Giada De Laurentiis’ cupcake recipes.  It, of course, has RASPBERRY whipped cream filling and powder sugar on top, which makes it super light.  The presentation is all Rachel’s.  She made it soooo pretty it was hard to eat, but we all ate it anyways.

And I’m not quite sure how it came about, but someone thought it would be a good idea for E to re-enact our proposal.  So this was when E “re-proposed” to me when the dessert was served.  We didn’t have anyone with us when he originally proposed so it was nice to have someone video’d and photographed it this time.

He was a great sport even though he probably was so embarassed to be on his knee in a room full of girls hooting and tooting him on.

So that was my awesome shower thanks to all these wonderful people in my life.  I totally heart my friends…and my bestest fiance ever.  XOXO.

Leave a comment